SafeCopy does keep an unlimited number of historical file versions which over time can take up space. In addition, if you remove something from your local hard drive, it stays in your SafeCopy account unless you manually remove it.
While you can delete folders and files from the web console, ccasionally we have customers who want to remove everything and start fresh to reduce the amount of space being used and generally clean things up. You can reset your backup and start fresh so that your online storage only contains what is currently on your local computer.
Resetting your backup will remove all historical versions and any duplicate files will be removed freeing up storage space. It will also only put back into your account files as they exist on your local computer. Here are the steps:
- Login to the web console by clicking the Browse button in the software to login automatically.
- Delete the computers using the blue drop down arrow and give it a couple minutes to complete.
- Open the SafeCopy software and select Restart Backup. (Windows: under the Settings menu which looks like a gear; Mac: under the SafeCopy menu at the top of the screen.)